Jurong Region Line, Singapore’s 7th MRT line, to open in three phases from 2026

09 May 2018

THE Jurong Region Line (JRL), which will serve residents in Choa Chu Kang, Boon Lay and future developments in the Tengah area, will have 24 stations and open in three phases starting from 2026.

The 24km-line, which will be above ground entirely, will also link up to the North-South Line at Choa Chu Kang and the East-West Line at Boon Lay.

Details of the island’s seventh MRT line were announced on Wednesday by Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan, who said the JRL will improve the resilience of the entire MRT network.

He said the two interchange stations at Choa Chu Kang and Boon Lay will offer commuters alternative travel routes, redistributing and relieving train loading between Choa Chu Kang and Jurong East stations so commuters can have more comfortable rides.

The JRL, Mr Khaw said, will go towards achieving the Government’s vision for Jurong. It will help develop the Jurong Lake District into the largest commercial hub outside the Central Business District and support the development of the Jurong Innovation District.

The new MRT line will connect to places such as Nanyang Technological University, Jurong Industrial estate, including Jurong Island and the future Jurong Gateway.

To read more, please click on the following link(s): https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/transport/jurong-region-line-singapores-7th-mrt-line-to-open-in-three-phases-from-2026